Call for Papers

DBSec is an annual international conference covering research in data and applications security and privacy. The 34th Annual IFIP WG 11.3 Working Conference on Data and Applications Security and Privacy (DBSec 2020) will be held in Regensburg, Germany.

The conference seeks submissions from academia, industry, and government presenting novel research on all theoretical and practical aspects of data protection, privacy, and applications security. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

access control knowledge discovery and privacy security and privacy in the Internet of Things
anonymity methodologies for data and application security security and privacy in location-based services
applied cryptography in data security network security security and privacy in P2P scenarios and social networks
authentication organisational and social aspects of security security and privacy in pervasive/ubiquitous computing
big data security privacy security and privacy policies
data and system integrity secure cloud computing security management and audit
data protection secure distributed systems security metrics
database security secure information integration threats, vulnerabilities, and risk management
digital rights management security and privacy in crowdsourcing trust and reputation systems
identity management distributed and decentralised security trust management
intrusion detection web security wireless and mobile security

Paper Submissions

Submitted papers should be at most 16 pages in the LNCS format (author instructions can be found here), excluding bibliography and well-marked appendices, and at most 20 pages in total. Committee members are not required to read the appendices, so the paper should be intelligible without them. Submissions are to be made to the submission web site at All submissions must be written in English, and only PDF files will be accepted (a Latex source file will be required for the final version of the accepted papers). The final version of the accepted papers must be in the format required for publications in the LNCS series. Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

Papers must be received by the deadline of February 15, 2020 February 29, 2020 (11:59 PM American Samoa time). A paper submitted to DBSec 2020 cannot be under review for any other conference or journal during the time it is being considered for DBSec 2020. Furthermore, after you submit to DBSec 2020, you must await our response before submitting elsewhere. If you submit your paper to another conference or journal either before/after submission of the paper to DBSec 2020, we will reject your paper without review and will notify the other conference/journal as well. This restriction applies to identical as well as to substantially similar papers.

Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their papers will be presented at the conference. Accepted papers will be published by Springer in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series.

IFIP author code of conduct:

Click here

IFIP referee code of conduct:

Click here

Important dates

Paper Submission due: February 15, 2020 February 29, 2020 - 11:59 PM American Samoa Time
Notification to authors: April 10, 2020
Final papers due: April 20, 2020

General Chair:

Günther PernulUniversität Regensburg, Germany

Program Chairs:

Anoop Singhal National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), USA
Jaideep Vaidya Rutgers University, USA

IFIP WG11.3 Chair:

Sara Foresti Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy

Publicity Chair:

Yuan Hong Illinois Institute of Technology, USA
Benedikt Putz Universität Regensburg, Germany

Local Arrangement Chair:

Petra Sauer Universität Regensburg, Germany

Program Committee:

Ayesha Afzal Air University
Vijay Atluri Rutgers University
Frédéric Cuppens TELECOM Bretagne
Nora Cuppens-Boulahia IMT Atlantique
Sabrina De Capitani di Vimercati Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Giovanni Di Crescenzo Perspecta Labs
Csilla Farkas USC
Barbara Fila INSA Rennes, IRISA
Sara Foresti Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Steven Furnell Plymouth University
Ehud Gudes Ben-Gurion University
Yuan Hong Illinois Institute of Technology
Sokratis Katsikas Open University of Cyprus
Costas Lambrinoudakis University of Piraeus
Adam J. Lee University of Pittsburgh
Yingjiu Li University of Oregon
Giovanni Livraga Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Javier Lopez UMA
Brad Malin Vanderbilt University
Fabio Martinelli IIT-CNR
Sjouke Mauw University of Luxembourg
Catherine Meadows NRL
Charles Morisset Newcastle University
Martin Olivier University of Pretoria
Stefano Paraboschi Università di Bergamo
Günther Pernul Universität Regensburg
Silvio Ranise FBK-Irst
Indrajit Ray Colorado State University
Indrakshi Ray Colorado State University
Kui Ren State University of New York at Buffalo
Pierangela Samarati Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Andreas Schaad WIBU-Systems
Scott Stoller Stony Brook University
Shamik Sural IIT, Kharagpur
Vijay Varadharajan The University of Newcastle
Lingyu Wang Concordia University
Wendy Hui Wang Stevens Institute of Technology
Edgar Weippl University of Vienna
Attila A Yavuz University of South Florida
Nicola Zannone Eindhoven University of Technology